From the Pennsylvania Pressroom


Wolf Administration Launches the Pennsylvania Long-Term Care Council

Harrisburg, PA – On behalf of Governor Tom Wolf, the Pennsylvania Department of Aging announced appointments to the Pennsylvania Long-Term Care Council, a 35-member body charged with making recommendations on regulations, licensure, financing or any other responsibilities of the departments and agencies that relate to the commonwealth’s long-term services and supports system.

Representative Lynda Schlegel Culver served as the prime sponsor of the Pennsylvania Long-Term Care Council Act, Act 64 of 2015, which was passed by the General Assembly as a replacement for the Intergovernmental Council on Long-Term Care in order to reflect today’s broader long-term care continuum. The council is intended to focus on several key areas of concentration, including regulatory review and access to quality care; community access and public education; long-term care service models and delivery; workforce; housing; and behavioral health issues of seniors over the age of 60. Chaired by Secretary of Aging Teresa Osborne, the council is comprised of a diverse array of stakeholders, including long-term care consumers, advocates, caregivers, providers, and policymakers.

“Pennsylvania spends over $5 billion dollars annually on long-term services and supports that range from in-home services and supports to round-the-clock care provided by professional nurses and trained staff in licensed nursing facilities throughout the commonwealth,” said Secretary Osborne.  “Recognizing that our state faces multiple demographic challenges within our long-term services and supports system, the creation of the Pennsylvania Long-Term Care Council is quite timely as we look forward to working with its members to ensure that every Pennsylvanian, including our seniors and persons with physical disabilities, have access to quality care in the most appropriate setting for their particular needs.”

Charles Quinnan has been appointed to serve as the executive director of the council. A native of Lackawanna County, Quinnan most recently served as the legislative director for the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture. Prior to that, he worked as the government relations director for the Pennsylvania Homecare Association and in various positions with the Pennsylvania House of Representatives, including serving as the executive director of the Finance and Aging and Older Adult Services committees. Quinnan holds a bachelor’s degree in public policy from Penn State University.


“Each member of the council has experience with Pennsylvania’s long-term care system and brings both a unique and pivotal perspective to the table,” Quinnan said. “Their participation will be invaluable as the commonwealth continues to look for innovative approaches to living and aging well.”

Council members include:

Senator Michele Brooks, Majority Chair of the Senate Aging and Youth Committee
Senator Art Haywood, Minority Chair of the Senate Aging and Youth Committee
Representative Tim Hennessey, Majority Chair of the House Aging Committee
Representative Pamela A. DeLissio
Brigadier General Anthony J. Carrelli, the Adjutant General
Honorable Ted Dallas, Secretary of Human Services
Honorable Teresa D. Miller, Insurance Commissioner
Honorable Karen Murphy, PhD, Secretary of Health
Honorable Teresa Osborne, Secretary of Aging
Honorable Leslie S. Richards, Secretary of Transportation
Brian A. Hudson, Sr., Executive Director & CEO, Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency
Joan Bradbury
Dr. Mario Cornacchione, DO
Timothy W. Coughlin
Lynn Fields Harris
Anne Henry
Lydia Hernandez-Velez
Dr. Jason Karlawish, MD
Kathleen Kleinmann
Commissioner Ted Kopas, Westmoreland County
John Kordish
Ray Landis
Thomas M. Lilly, JD
Robert F. Marino
Joyce T. McClary
Diane Menio
Mildred E. Morrison
Dr. David A. Nace
Shane Nugent
Vincenza Portzline
Kenneth G. Potter, JD
Nicole Pruitt
Michael Sokoloski
Matthew Yarnell
Heshie Zinman

The council’s first meeting is scheduled for 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 30, 2016 at the Pennsylvania Department of Aging, 555 Walnut Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101.

MEDIA CONTACT: Drew Wilburne, 717-705-3702

# # #

Skip to content